E-ink frame battery life, explained
Last checked September 28, 2026
E-paper holds its picture with no power at all, so a frame’s battery only drains when it wakes up to fetch and draw a new photo (and, on the Aura Ink, to run its front light). Battery life is really a count of refreshes.
Each maker’s claim assumes something different
| Frame | Claim | Assumes | Battery |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aura Ink | Up to 3 months | One photo a day | Not published |
| Ugreen Gallery | Up to 6 months | Not stated | 10,000 mAh |
| Bloomin8 13.3" | 1-3 years | One refresh a day | 10,000 mAh |
| SwitchBot | Up to 2 years | Weekly changes (Creative Bloq) | 2,000 mAh |
| Reflection Frame | 2 years | About 3 updates a day | 5,000 mAh |
| InkPoster Affresco 13.3" | Up to 12 months | Depends on use | 10,000 mAh |
| Aluratek | Up to 2 years | Not stated | Not published |
| Fraimic | “Multi-year” | Not stated | 10,000 mAh |
So a frame with a smaller battery can claim longer life simply by assuming fewer changes. Compare frames at the same schedule you’ll actually use.
What reviewers saw
- SwitchBot 13.3": down to 87% after almost three months (Android Headlines); another tester saw 100% to 91% in two months (Techlicious).
- Aluratek: “about a year” per charge in Fstoppers’ use (Fstoppers), against a 2-year claim.
What drains it faster
- More photo changes. Aura designs the Ink for one photo a day and warns more frequent updates shorten battery life.
- Front light and weak Wi-Fi. E Ink says the Aura Ink’s battery depends on front-light use, update frequency and Wi-Fi strength (E Ink).
- Cold. Spectra 6 panels are rated for 0-50 °C (E Ink), so keep frames indoors and away from cold outside walls and radiators.
Charging
The frames we cover charge over USB-C where the maker says so (Aura, Bloomin8, Fraimic, SwitchBot, InkPoster, Aluratek). The picture stays on screen while the battery is flat: it just stops changing.